The Land Rover Kentucky Three-Day Event

The Kentucky Three-Day Event is one of the most prestigious horse trials in the world. The eventing competition is held in Lexington, Kentucky in the United States and is a CCI 5-star event. One of only 6 annual horse trials held at this level each year across the world.

Kentucky Horse Park held its first event at this level in 1998 after Denny Emerson believed that enough competitors in the United States competed at this level. Previously most US event riders went and trained in England with the aim of competing at Badminton and Burghley Horse Trails.

In 2003 Pippa Funnel (GBR) won Kentucky as the first event of her eventual Rolex Grand Slam win. (The Grand Slam makes up of winning 3 events – Badminton, Burghley and Kentucky) The only other event rider who has won the grand slam is Michael Jung in 2015/16.

This year Kentucky takes place on 25th – 28th April 2019 with the first two days of dressage, then cross-country followed by the show jumping on the last day.

The drawn order includes:-

1 Boyd Martin Ray Price USA

2 Caroline Martin Islandwood Captain Jack USA

3 Bruce (Buck) Davidson Jr. Park Trader USA OR 4 Bruce (Buck) Davidson Jr. Carlevo USA

5 Lauren Kieffer Landmark’s Monte Carlo USA

6 Elisabeth Halliday-Sharp Deniro Z USA

7 Allie Sacksen Sparrow’s Nio USA

8 Sara Gumbiner Polaris USA

9 Clayton Fredericks FE Ophelia AUS

10 Ashley Johnson Tactical Maneuver USA

11 Hannah Sue Burnett Harbour Pilot USA

12 Mara Depuy Congo Brazzaville C USA

13 Hallie Coon Celien USA

14 Felix Vogg Colero SUI

15 Joe Meyer Johnny Royale NZL

16 Lillian Heard LCC Barnaby USA

17 Hazel Shannon Willingapark Clifford AUS

18 Will Faudree PFun USA

19 Alexandra Knowles Sound Prospect USA

20 Daniela Moguela Cecelia MEX

21 Nilson Da Silva Moreira Magnum’s Martini BRA

22 Ellen Doughty-Hume Sir Oberon USA

23 Lisa Marie Fergusson Honor Me CAN

25 Chris Talley Unmarked Bills USA

26 Boyd Martin Long Island T USA

27 Caroline Martin Danger Mouse USA

28 Bruce (Buck) Davidson Jr. Jak My Style USA

29 Lauren Kieffer Paramount Importance USA

30 Piggy French Quarrycrest Echo GBR

31 Dominic Schramm Bolytair B AUS

32 Marcelo Tosi Glenfly BRA

33 William Coleman Tight Lines USA

34 Erin Sylvester Paddy the Caddy USA

35 Leslie Law Voltaire De Tre’ GBR

36 Ariel Grald Leamore Master Plan USA

37 Colleen Loach Qorry Blue d’Argouges CAN

38 Andrea Baxter Indy 500 USA

39 Waylon Roberts Lancaster CAN

40 Matthew Flynn Wizzerd USA

41 Tim Price Xavier Faer NZL

42 Frankie Thieriot Stutes Chatwin USA

43 Jessica Phoenix Bogue Sound CAN

44 Oliver Townend Cooley Master Class GBR

45 Phillip Dutton Z USA

46 Hawley Bennett-Awad Jollybo CAN

47 Lynn Symansky Under Suspection USA

48 Sharon White Cooley on Show USA

49 Emily Beshear Silver Night Lady USA

50 Doug Payne Vandiver USA

51 Boyd Martin Tsetserleg USA

53 Bruce (Buck) Davidson Jr. Copper Beach USA  OR 54 Bruce (Buck) Davidson Jr. Carlevo USA

55 Lauren Kieffer Vermiculus USA

Ones to watch – Oliver Townend (GBR) is returning to the event on Cooley Master Class. Together they won the Land Rover Kentucky Event in 2018. If you are not attending the event then you can watch the competition on FEI TV.