The Grand National National Horse Race

The Grand National was first run in 1839 and is a handicap steeplechase over 4 miles and 2.5 furlongs. The National Hunt Horse Race is held each year at Aintree Racecourse in Liverpool. A field of up to 40 horses and jockeys, race around the track over 40 steeplechase fences. The course is famous for being the ultimate test of horse and rider for endurance and skill with some of the largest well-known fences including Becher’s Brook, The Chair, Canal Turn and Foinavon.

Becher’s Brook is the 6th and 22nd fence jumped during the Grand National Course. It is notorious due to its size and angle, with a drop on landing of 6ft 9 inches. Another recognised fence is ‘The Chair’ which is 5ft2 inches high and has a 6ft ditch in front of the hedge on take-off. Foinavon was the Grand National Winner in 1967. His odds were 100/1 but he won the national after the rest of the field fell or refused at the 23rd Fence. In 1984 the 23rd fence was officially name Foinavon.

The leading horse around the Grand National track is Red Rum, trained by Ginger McCain, who famously won the race 3 times in 1973, 1974 and 1977. No horse has ever been able to repeat this victory. However, Jockey George Stevens has won the race 5 times of different horses – Freetrader in 1856, Emblem in 1863, Emblematic in 1864 and The Colonel in 1869 and 1870.

2019 Grand National Runners

Number Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Anibale Fly Tony Martin Barry Geraghty
2 Valtor Nicky Henderson Daryl Jacob
3 Tiger Roll Gordon Elliot Davy Russell
4 Outlander Richard Spencer James Bowen
5 Don Poli Phil Kirby Patrick Mullins
6 Go Conquer Nigel Twiston-Davies Sam Twiston-Davies
7 Mala Beach Gordon Elliot Jamie Codd
8 Minella Rocco Jonjo O’Neill Richie McLernon
9 Lake View Lad Nick Alexander Henry Brooke
10 Pleasant Company Willie Mullins Paul Townend
11 Ballyoptic Nigel Twiston-Davies Tom Bellamy
12 Dounikos Gordon Elliot Jack Kennedy
13 Rathvinden Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
14 One For Arthur Lucinda Russell Derek Fox
15 Rock The Kasbah Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson
16 Warriors Tale Paul Nicholls Harry Cobden
17 Regal Encore Antony Honeyball Mark Walsh
18 Magic of Light Jessica Harrington Paddy Kennedy
19 A Toi Phil Gordon Elliot Denis O’Regan
20 Jury Duty Gordon Elliot Robbie Power
21 Nobel Endeavor Gordon Elliot Mark Enright
22 Monbeg Notorious Gordon Elliot Sean Bowen
23 Ramses De Teillee David Pipe David Noonan
24 Tea For Two Jane Williams Lizzie Kelly
R25 Just A Par James Moffatt Aidan Coleman
26 Step Back Mark Bradstock Nico de Boinbille
27 Ultragold Colin Tizzard Tom O’Brien
28 Blow By Blow Gordon Elliot Andrew Ring
29 Up For Review Willie Mullins Danny Mullins
30 Singlefarmpayment Tom George Paddy Brennan
31 Vieux Lion Rouge David Pipe Tom Scudamore
32 Valseur Lido Hendy de Bromhead Rachael Blackmore
33 Vintage Clouds Sue Smith Danny Cook
34 General Principle Gordon Elliot J J Slevin
35 Livelovelaugh Willie Mullins David Mullins
36 Walk In The Mill Robert Walford James Best
37 Folsom Blue Gordon Elliot Luke Dempsey
38 Captain Redbeard Stuart Coltherd Sam Coltherd
39 Bless The Wings Gordon Elliot Robbie Dunne
40 Joe Farrell Rebecca Curtin Adam Wedge


The Grand National takes place on 6th April 2019 at 17.15 BST. You can watch the race on ITV or listen of BBC Radio 5 Live and Sports Extra.