Harry Skelton Champion Jump Jockey

Harry Skelton has been crowned champion jump jockey for the National Hunt season 2020/2021 for the first time at Sandown on Saturday 24th April 2021.

Paul Nicholls won the champion trainers title for the 12th time in his career with JP McManus winning his 14th Champion’s Owner title, while Danny McMenamin is Champion Conditional Jockey.

Harry Skelton has been campaigning againsts defending champion Brian Hughes for the title but Skelton has now ridden over 150 winners this season and gained the title. The majority of Harry’s winning rides have come from his brother, trainer Dan Skelton who has also had a very successful season.

Harry’s most high profile wins this seasons include a Grade 1 double at Sandown in December with Politologue winning the Tingle Creek and Allmankind winning the Henry VIII Novices chase. Harry then won the Kauto Star Novices Chase on Boxing Day at Kempton riding Shan Blue.

Sir AP McCoy was Champion Jockey 20 times in his career, which is more than any other winner; he also recorded the most wins in a season, with 289 in the 2001–02 season. Any Champion Jockey who has won championship after 2016 will receive a new trophy designed by Asprey and chosen by Sir AP McCoy after the previous trophy was gifted to Sir AP upon his retirement.